Sri Lanka team to leave for India on 1 January

The National Cricket Squad is scheduled to leave for India on the 1st of January to play three Twenty20 Internationals and three One Day Internationals.

The tour will begin with the T20 series starting on the 3rd of January.

The opening match of the series will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Sri Lanka Cricket has named a 20-member squad for the tour subject to approval from the Minister of Sports.

Dasun Shanaka will continue to lead both the T20 and ODI teams.

NewsRadio has learnt that there are reservations from the Subject Minister to approve the squad due to the exclusion of some players despite their recent performances.

Meanwhile, the squad will commence preparations for the tour of India with practice sessions at the R Premadasa Stadium from today.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



More like this

Cement prices slashed from today

The price of a 50 kilogram cement bag will...

Sri Lankan Muslims will celebrate Eid tomorrow

Sri Lanka’s Muslims will celebrate the Eid-ul-Fitr festival on...

UP: 28 Muslims booked for offering congregational prayers in school

In the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh, the police...

‘India trying to mislead world by holding G20 meeting in Srinagar’

President of Jammu Kashmir Democratic Forum France Mirza Asif...